Posted by: Jim Rosemergy | April 11, 2014

More Than A Choice

Choice and change are forever bound to one another, and together they give birth to a responsible individual. If you want to change some aspect of your life, the choices you make will make possible the change. Recently, Nancy and I made massive changes in what we eat and the time given to exercise our bodies. The result is great vitality and energy to do the things that are ours to do. 

After my body experienced the heart attack, I made a commitment to take better care of myself. I concluded my mission here was not complete, and I wanted to do the work that is mine to do with vitality. God’s work deserves our best. And so I made more than a choice; I made a commitment. 

The truth is most of us know exactly what to do, we just don’t do it. The choice is never made, and therefore the change never happens. The reason is that we have to go deeper than choice; more is required of us. Commitment is our call, and when we know we are here for the spiritual purpose of being a wick in God’s candle (so God’s light can shine), it is easier to make more than a choice. 

 

Responses

  1. Perfect for my present circumstances. Thank you. I’ve missed these messages. Blessings abound! Peace to you and Nancy.

  2. Hi Jim

    You speak of what it takes to be a “responsible” individual. I like to see that word responsible as response – able, to be able to respond. The two great commandments that Jesus gave us are saying

    1. Respond to God
    2. Respond to your neighbour as you respond to yourself.

    Many people put the second before the first because they don’t KNOW GOD, but feel they can know their neighbour. The reason they don’t know God is because they don’t know Jesus. They don’t know “Jesus is alive today” and so get on with the task of “loving their neighbour as they love themselves”, which can be hard work unless the first commandment is in place. That is probably why Jesus said “Seek ye first the Kingdom of Heaven and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you.”

    Love
    Pip

  3. Yes, Mt. 6:33 is the key!

  4. Hi Jim,

    I hope you are ok! When was your heart attack?

    I am holding you in my thoughts and prayers.

    All my love to you and Nancy,

    Jim Holbrook

  5. A wick in God’s candle.

    I Love That.


Leave a Reply

Categories

